Shanghai

主要联系人

Voon Keat Lai  

Voon Keat Lai
Managing partner 电话: +852 2533 2790 电邮 Voon | 电子名片

Awards

Award Image 1

Shanghai

作为本所上海代表处成立于1993年,是本所大中华区的办事处之一。本所北京、香港和上海代表处的律师自1979年起专心致力为大中华内外客户提供优质的英国法及香港法法律服务。本所亦会针对其他司法管辖区法律的特定领域提供法律意见。

  • 简介
  • 相关经验
  • 主要联系人
  • 联系我们

在这著称专业知识的行业里,我们以诚实守信、创新思维和重视客户需要而脱颖而出。本所的律师聪慧、风趣、有商业头脑,并拥有极强的社交能力,这全赖于我们着重全方位的人力资源管理,以及对人才招聘和培育的重视。我们确保本所的客户都能获得一流出众、始终如一、意义明确且浅显易懂的法律意见。

无论是与客户还是在团队内部,我们都注重关系培养。我们努力与客户建立深厚及真挚的关系,深入了解他们的企业和文化。在团队内部中,我们着重培养友情和团队合作精神,并为共同目标而奋斗。

我们的上海代表处在银行与金融、海事与国际贸易公司事务及私人财富领域独具专长。同时,上海代表处也是中国内地少数有能力处理涉及香港、新加坡和英国的公司融资事务的律所之一。不仅如此,它亦是少数位于中国内地并能够处理私人财富和信托业务的律所之一。

本所上海代表处与大中华区北京、香港办事处以及广州联营所通力合作,共同为大中华区的客户提供全面的律服务服务。

上海代表处的客户群遍布各大主要行业和领域,包括个人和中小型企业和跨国公司。当中部分客户是在中国运营或投资的国际跨国公司或与中国企业存在贸易往来关系。

”他们持续提供优秀的法律建议,在起草协议方面具备扎实的专业技能。“

2018年钱伯斯亚洲法律指南

公司并购

SEA Holdings Limited

就爪哇控股有限公司(S E A Holdings Limited)(“爪哇”)收购香港寿臣山物业的交易提供法律服务,以三个股权买卖协议收购持有物业的公司之全部发行股本,总价值为15.28亿港元。在每项协议中,买方为爪哇的全资控股子公司,爪哇为买方的担保人。

骏东(控股)有限公司

为一所于香港交易所创业板上市的公司-- 骏东(控股)有限公司,就其股东出售57%之公司股权提供法律服务,总交易额达1.9亿港元。该公司的主要业务为采购、生产及销售胶合板产品该公司以及买卖圆木。

昌兴国际控股有限公司

为昌兴国际控股有限公司就其于菲律宾、印度尼西亚、加拿大、巴西和马来西亚等地的勘探和采矿业务(主要为铁矿和煤矿)提供法律意见,总投资额逾1.5亿美元。

公司首次公开招股

Zioncom Holdings Limited

为Zioncom Holdings Limited担任发行人的法律顾问。发行人为一家专门设计和开发无线网络产品的网络产品制造商,产品主要作家用及小规模商业应用。截至2017年6月30日,该公司的产品已销往40多个国家和地区。

Nexion Technologies Limited

 为Nexion Technologies Limited担任发行人的法律顾问。发行人为一家总部设在新加坡的信息及通讯技术解决方案提供商,专注于提供网络基础设施解决方案及网络安全解决方案。

特殊用途收购公司

为一家特殊用途的收购公司就其在伦敦证券交易所的标准部分之主要市场上市及入场提供法律建议。该公司市值约为400万英镑。

品牌服装零售商的服装设计与采购商

 在SG集团控股有限公司在香港交易所创业板的上市项目中为独家保荐人提供法律服务。公司是品牌时装零售商的服装设计和采购商。

争议解决

龚如心财产管理人

代表亚洲女首富龚如心的财产管理人,处理龚如心的财产(据报道价值超过100亿美元)权益纠纷。

一家大型中国基金

代表一家大型中国基金公司,处理其与美林证券(Merrill Lynch)之间因澳大利亚Opes Prime的倒闭和管理而产生的7500万港元的纠纷。

海事保险索赔

代表中国人民保险(香港)有限公司(“PICC”),处理锦兴贸易公司(“锦兴”)对其提起的海事保险索赔,并成功代表客户撤销130万美元的保险索赔。在本案中,锦兴就其遭受的损失向PICC提出海事保险索赔,其同时起诉了PICC及其保险经纪人。在香港法庭经过8天的聆讯后,法庭以锦兴未遵守ICC/01规定或未通知PICC其违约行为及因此预示的潜在重大风险的理据撤回了锦兴的索赔诉求。此案为适用ICC/01规定的标志性裁决案件。

雇佣

一位顶级科学家

代表一位顶级科学家,协助其在一起高等法院诉讼中追回其根据雇佣合同应享有的合同利益。该案涉及混合诉求,其中包括劳资审裁处拥有专属管辖权的诉求。我们在法院处理混合诉求拥有的司法管辖权方面获得开创性的裁决。最终,我们代表该客户成功追回合同利益以及根据税收均衡条款被抵扣的部分薪水金额。

一家飞机租赁公司

为一家飞机租赁公司就其参与的法庭诉讼提供法律建议,其中包括代表其请求法庭对一家违反终止后限制性条款而招揽客户的经纪公司发出中间禁令。

终止雇佣

就一家国际音乐公司的高管成员终止雇佣合同提供法律建议。该案涉及到雇佣福利和终止权利相关的各类复杂问题。

融资

一家新成立的中国融资租赁公司

代表一家新成立的中国融资租赁公司处理其向一家香港航空公司出租一架A350-900飞机涉及的出售和融资租赁交易。该交易同时涉及到交付前及交付时的融资问题。有关交付前融资,该融资租赁公司通过银行借款及发行资产担保证券寻求外部融资。由于该交易涉及的购买协议以美元结算而贷款协议规定的贷款货币为人民币,因此该交易颇具挑战性。此外,因须满足飞机购买协议下分期付款的期限要求,该交易亦面临巨大的时间压力。

一家大型中国融资租赁公司

为一家在20多个国家及地区拥有广泛业务运营的大型中国融资租赁公司提供法律建议。该公司运营的业务包括航空业、造船、汽车、施工机械、城市基础设施建设、大型设备生产、公路和铁路运输等。该客户在远洋船舶融资方面拥有广阔的市场,现寻求扩展业务至拥有及运营该等船舶。为此,该客户收购了5艘新建的208,000 DWT Newcastlemax散货船,并将根据长期租赁协议将所有该等散货船出租予美国一家大型农工业产品贸易商Cargill公司。

国际商会-香港分会(ICC-HK)

代表国际商会-香港分会(ICC-HK)成立基于贸易的反洗钱分委员会,以整合从业人员的意见并将该等意见传达至香港金融管理局,从而为该地区的银行业和贸易圈制定标准化的行业惯例以及基于风险的体制模型。

知识产权

小米公司

代表小米公司,全球发展最快的智能手机公司之一以及中国领先的技术公司,处理其与苹果公司之间在香港商标注册处提起的一项重大商标纠纷案。

一家领先的美国玩具品牌公司

代表一家领先的美国玩具品牌公司,就其针对一家位于香港的中国大陆制造商制定执法策略及提起上诉提供法律建议。通过我们在中国大陆当地团队的协助,我们能够为该客户搜集证据并就中国大陆执法程序提供无缝隙服务。

一家欧洲制药及生命科学公司

为一家欧洲制药及生命科学公司起草跨境临床供应协议及提供相关的法律建议,该协议是与一家中国生物制药公司签订的。

选美大赛组织机构

就选美大赛组织机构保护及执行其在亚洲地区的知识产权提供建议。

海事与国际贸易

韩进海运

就与韩进海运有关的韩国破产重整程序向贷方银团提供法律服务。

大宗商品纠纷

代表一家大型大宗商品交易商,成功为其在中国主要金属仓储欺诈所影响的商品“附买回协议”(卖出和回购)交易的2.7亿美元索赔作辩护。

大型银行

就一家大型银行对七艘船的抵押执法给予法律意见。案件较为复杂因船只涉及与另一中国大陆银行的抵押贷款并未有进行船舶登记。

中国最大煤炭进口公司之一

根据“美国破产法”第15章通过并行的香港和英属维京群岛之互认安排,为中国最大煤炭进口公司之一的3.5亿美元的债券重组提供法律意见。

海运保险公司

代表主要保险公司因在香港水域沉没船只而造成损失在香港法院提出索赔。该案件还涉及到承运人协议的索赔和船舶安全承载能力的诠释。

私人财富

个人、家族和家族办公室

为个人、家族及家族办公室在设立家族信托架构包括加拿大及美国税务和房地产筹划、准备个人遗嘱以及成立慈善机构相关事宜上提供咨询服务,将所有事宜安排得井井有条,确保客户的财富将来能够顺利地由其继承人继承。

家庭住宅、度假屋和投资性物业

家庭住宅、度假屋和投资性物业有关的业权转让、物业管理和业主租户关系上等法律问题。

诉讼

如果不幸发生纠纷,我们可代表客户处理涉及遗产、家族信托、家族企业安排、不动产财产、股权、商业合伙和合资经营企业的纠纷以及投资者之间的纷争。

Voon Keat Lai

Voon Keat Lai Managing partner

电话: +852 2533 2790
电邮 Voon | 电子名片 办公室: Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai

Vincent Xu

Vincent Xu Office lead partner

电话: +86 21 5385 2299
电邮 Vincent | 电子名片 办公室: Shanghai

Address

罗夏信律师事务所驻上海代表处
中国上海市静安区南京西路1515号
上海嘉里中心1座901-2和910室
邮编200040
香港罗夏信律师事务所驻上海代表处
电话:+86 21 5385 2299
传真:+86 21 5385 2195

  • 地铁乘车路线

2号线静安寺站

Latest news & insights

09 Aug 2019

From Insights

China and the evolving landscape of the global shipping industry (Chinese podcast)

Shanghai partners Vincent Xu and Evangeline were invited by Capital Link as moderators to the panel discussion “China and the Evolving Landscape of the Global Shipping..

More

09 Aug 2019

From Insights

中国与全球航运业的历史与未来 [普通话播客]

近期获Capital Link邀请,本所上海合伙人许椿及郭懿聆在题为“中国与全球航运业的历史与未来”的研讨会中作为主持人,

More

25 Apr 2019

From News

Stephenson Harwood advises Design Capital Limited on Hong Kong Stock Exchange Listing

Law firm Stephenson Harwood has advised Design Capital Limited on its listing on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

More

20 Mar 2019

From News

Stephenson Harwood wins four awards at China Business Law Awards 2019

Law firm Stephenson Harwood has been awarded in four categories at the China Business Law Awards 2019. The firm was recognised, alongside other top international law f..

More

17 Sep 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year for the second year running

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has won the 'International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year' award at the China Law and Practice Awards 2018, for the second year r..

More

09 Aug 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood retains 90% of September qualifying trainees

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has announced that it is retaining 90% of its trainees who qualify in September 2018, after nine of 10 trainees were offered and accept..

More

21 May 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood advises BOCOM International on HPC holdings' HK$180 million Hong Kong Stock Exchange listing

Law firm Stephenson Harwood has advised the sole sponsor, BOCOM International (Asia) Limited (BIAL), on the listing of the shares of HPC Holdings Limited (HPC) on the ..

More

03 Oct 2017

From News

Stephenson Harwood named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has been named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year at the China Law & Practice Awards 2017, held in Beijing.

More

02 May 2017

From News

Stephenson Harwood strengthens practice in China

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has strengthened its ship finance and commercial litigation practices in Shanghai with the addition of partner ‎Vincent Xu and the relo..

More

30 Jun 2016

From News

Stephenson Harwood advises Circle Holdings on 'first of a kind' China medical project

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has advised Circle Holdings plc on its 20-year management agreement with a Chinese investor group, to develop and operate a medical fac..

More

05 Jun 2015

From Insights

Competition law developments in the Asia-Pacific region

We set out a number of interesting recent antitrust developments in the Asia-Pacific region.

More

print-footer
logo
© Stephenson Harwood LLP 2016. Any reference to Stephenson Harwood in this document means Stephenson Harwood LLP and/or its affiliated undertakings. Any reference to a partner is used to refer to a member of Stephenson Harwood LLP.

Shanghai

KEY CONTACT

Voon Keat Lai  

Voon Keat Lai
Managing partner T: +852 2533 2790 Email Voon | Vcard

General enquiries

T: +86 21 5385 2299
Email

Awards

Winner - The i-law Maritime Law Award

Winner - The i-law Maritime Law Award

Shanghai

Established in 1993, our Shanghai office is part of our Greater China practice. Based in three offices in Beijing, Hong Kong and Shanghai, our Greater China lawyers have been providing, multi-lingual quality English and Hong Kong law advice to clients within and outside Greater China since 1979. Our lawyers also advise on selected aspects of laws of other jurisdictions.
  • Profile
  • Experience
  • Key contacts
  • How to find us

In an industry where technical knowhow is a given, we differentiate ourselves by our honesty, creative thinking and attention to client care. Our lawyers are bright, fun, commercially minded and have strong inter-personal skills. We achieve this by focusing on talent recruitment and enrichment across all aspects of our human resource management. We aim to ensure that our clients have access to top-notch, consistent and unequivocal legal advice in plain language wherever we operate.

We are relationship driven, both with our clients and internally. With our clients, we seek to build deep, meaningful relationships and an understanding of their businesses and cultures. Internally, we invest in building camaraderie, teamwork and commitment to common goals.

The Shanghai office has a particular focus on commercial, outsourcing and technology, competition, corporate, finance and private wealth. The Shanghai office is one of the few law firms based in China with the ability to undertake corporate finance work involving Hong Kong, Singapore and the United Kingdom. It is also one of the few law firms based in China with an international private wealth and trust practice.

Along with our other Greater China offices in Beijing, Hong Kong and our alliance in Guangzhou, we provide a comprehensive range of legal service to clients operating within the Greater China region.

The Shanghai office services a diverse group of clients from individuals to small and medium enterprises and multi-nationals across many industry sectors. Many of these clients are foreign multi-nationals operating or investing in the Greater China region or have trade relationships with these entities here.

"They maintain a high level of quality, turn things around fast, and are just very thorough and of a high calibre."
Chambers Asia Pacific 2015

Corporate - M&A

SEA Holdings Limited

Advised the SEA Holdings Limited on three sale and purchase agreements to purchase the entire issued share capital of companies holding properties in Shouson Hill, Hong Kong for an aggregate consideration of HK$1,528,000,000. In each agreement the purchaser was a wholly-owned subsidiary of SEA Holdings Limited, and SEA Holdings Limited acted as purchaser’s guarantor.

Steed Oriental (Holdings) Company Limited

Advised Steed Oriental (Holdings) Company Limited, a listed company on the GEM board of the Hong Kong stock exchange which manufactures customised plywood products, on the disposal of a 57 percent equity interest, valued at HK$190 million.

Prosperity Minerals Holdings

Advised Prosperity Minerals Holdings on the aggregate investment of more than US$150 million in exploration and mining operations (predominantly iron ore and coal mines) in the Philippines, Indonesia, Canada, Brazil and Malaysia.

Corporate - IPO

Zioncom Holdings Limited

Advised as the legal adviser to Zioncom Holdings Limited. The Company is a manufacturer of networking products specialising in the design and development of wireless networking products which are primarily targeted for home use and small scale commercial applications. The Company‘s products are sold to over 40 countries and regions as at 30 June 2017.

Nexion Technologies Limited

Advised as the legal adviser to Nexion Technologies Limited. The company is an established information and communication technology solution provider headquartered in Singapore focusing on the provision of cyber infrastructure and cyber security solutions.

A special purpose acquisition company

Advised a special purpose acquisition company on its listing and admission on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange’s Standard segment. The company was listed with a market capitalisation of approximately £4 million.

An apparel designing and sourcing service provider for branded fashion retailers

Advised as the legal adviser to the sole sponsor for the listing of securities of SG Group Holdings Limited on GEM of the HKSE. The company is an apparel designing and sourcing service provider for branded fashion retailers.

Dispute resolution

Administrators of the Estate of Nina Wang

Advised the administrators of the Estate of Nina Wang, Asia’s richest woman in the dispute over entitlement to her estate (reported to be worth in excess of US$10 billion).

A large China fund

Advised a large China fund in a dispute over HK$75 million with Merrill Lynch arising out of the collapse and administration of Opes Prime in Australia.

Marine insurance claim

Advised in a marine insurance claim on behalf of People’s Insurance Company of China (Hong Kong) Ltd against Kam Hing Trading Ltd. and successfully defended the client from an insurance claim of US$1,300,000. Kam Hing claimed against PICC under a marine insurance policy for its loss, it sued both PICC and its insurance broker, but following an eight-day hearing in the Hong Kong Court, the claim was dismissed on the grounds that Kam Hing had failed to comply with ICC/01 or to give notice to PICC that it was in breach of the clause and therefore represented a potentially greater risk. This was a landmark decision on ICC/01.

Employment

A leading scientist

Advised a leading scientist in High Court proceedings to recover contractual benefits owed to her under her employment contract. We obtained a ground breaking judgment concerning the court’s jurisdiction to handle mixed claims which included claims which fell within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Labour Tribunal. We successfully recovered payment of the contractual benefits and sums withheld from the employee which had been deducted from her salary pursuant to a tax equalisation clause.

A jet charter company

Advised a jet charter company in court proceedings which included obtaining an interlocutory injunction against one of its brokers who had sought to solicit customers in breach of post termination restrictive covenants.

Termination of employment

Advised on the termination of employment of the senior management members of an international music company. Various complicated issues relating to employment benefits and rights of termination were involved.

Finance

A new PRC finance leasing company

Advised a new PRC finance leasing company in a sale and finance lease transaction which involved one (1) A350-900 aircraft to be leased to a Hong Kong airline. The transaction involved both pre-delivery and delivery financing. In respect of the pre-delivery financing, the finance leasing company seek external financing by way of bank lending and issuance of asset-backed securities. This matter was challenging because the purchase agreement was settled in US dollars while the loan agreement provided for a Renminbi loan. There was also immense time pressure to meet the deadline of instalment payment under the aircraft purchase agreement.

A major PRC finance leasing company

Advised a major PRC finance leasing company operating in a wide variety of businesses in over 20 countries and regions, ranging from aviation, shipbuilding, automotive, construction machinery, urban infrastructure, large equipment manufacturing, highways and rail transportation. Our client has a considerable market presence in the financing of oceangoing vessels and is now looking to expand into the business of owning and operating such vessels. To that end, our client has embarked on a project for the acquisition of 5 newbuild 208,000 dwt Newcastlemax bulk carriers, all of which will be chartered out under long term time charters to Cargill, a major US-based agricultural and industrial commodities trader.

ICC-HK

Advised ICC-HK in forming a Trade-based AML Sub-committee consolidating the opinions of the practitioners and communicating the same to HKMA in order to standardize the industry practice and develop a risk-based model for the banking and trading communities in the region.

Intellectual property

Xiaomi

Advised Xiaomi, one of the world’s fastest-growing smartphone companies and a leading technology company based in China, in a significant trademark dispute with Apple Inc. in the Hong Kong Trade Marks Registry.

A leading American toys brand owner

Advised a leading American toys brand owner on its enforcement strategy and actions against its PRC manufacturers in Hong Kong, and via our local capabilities in the PRC, we have been seamlessly advising and assisting in the evidence gathering and PRC enforcement proceedings.

A European pharmaceutical and life sciences company

Advised a European pharmaceutical and life sciences company on and drafting a cross-border clinical supply agreement with a PRC based bio-pharmaceutical company.

Beauty pageant organisations

Advised beauty pageant organisations on the protection and enforcement of their intellectual property rights in Asia.

Marine and international trade

Syndicates of lenders

Advised syndicates of lenders with regards to the Korean rehabilitation proceedings in connection with Hanjin Shipping Co. Ltd.

A major commodity trader

Advised a major commodity trader in the successful defence of US$270 million claim relating to commodity “repo” (Sale and Repurchase) deals affected by a major metals warehousing fraud in China.

A major bank

Advised a major bank enforcing mortgages in relation to a fleet of seven vessels. Added complications were that there were allegedly pre-existing mortgages entered by a mainland Chinese bank which did not appear on the ship registry.

One of China’s largest coal importing companies

Advised one of China’s largest coal importing companies, on its US$350 million bond restructuring using parallel Hong Kong and BVI schemes of arrangement and recognition under Chapter 15 of the US Bankruptcy Code.

Major insurers

Advised major insurers in relation to claims brought in the Hong Kong court in respect of losses allegedly arising from the sinking of a vessel in Hong Kong waters. This matter also involves claims under connecting carrier agreements and interpretation of the vessel’s safe carrying capacity.

Private wealth

Individuals, families and family offices

Advised individuals, families and family offices on the setting up of trust structures, preparing wills for individuals, as well as charity advisory services including US tax and estate planning advice, thus putting everything in place to ensure that the wealth of our clients is one day passed on smoothly to their successors.

Family residences, holiday homes and investment properties

Advised conveyancing, property management and landlord-tenant relationships that involve family residences, holiday homes and investment properties.

Disputes

In the unfortunate event that they arise, we can advise our clients in disputes that involve estates, trusts, family business arrangements, property, shareholdings, business partnerships, joint ventures and conflicts between investors.

Voon Keat Lai

Voon Keat Lai Managing partner

T: +852 2533 2790
Email Voon | Vcard Office: Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai

Vincent Xu

Vincent Xu Partner

T: +86 21 5385 2299
Email Vincent | Vcard Office: Shanghai

Address

Stephenson Harwood Shanghai Representative Office
Units 901-2 & 910
Tower 1, Shanghai Kerry Centre
1515 Nanjing Road West, Jingan District
Shanghai 200040

T: +86 21 5385 2299 │F: +86 21 5385 2195

How to find us

  • By Subway
Jingan Temple Station (Line 2)

Latest news & insights

17 Sep 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year for the second year running

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has won the 'International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year' award at the China Law and Practice Awards 2018, for the second year r..

More

09 Aug 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood retains 90% of September qualifying trainees

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has announced that it is retaining 90% of its trainees who qualify in September 2018, after nine of 10 trainees were offered and accept..

More

21 May 2018

From News

Stephenson Harwood advises BOCOM International on HPC holdings' HK$180 million Hong Kong Stock Exchange listing

Law firm Stephenson Harwood has advised the sole sponsor, BOCOM International (Asia) Limited (BIAL), on the listing of the shares of HPC Holdings Limited (HPC) on the ..

More

03 Oct 2017

From News

Stephenson Harwood named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has been named International Shipping & Aviation Firm of the Year at the China Law & Practice Awards 2017, held in Beijing.

More

02 May 2017

From News

Stephenson Harwood strengthens practice in China

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has strengthened its ship finance and commercial litigation practices in Shanghai with the addition of partner ‎Vincent Xu and the relo..

More

30 Jun 2016

From News

Stephenson Harwood advises Circle Holdings on 'first of a kind' China medical project

Law firm Stephenson Harwood LLP has advised Circle Holdings plc on its 20-year management agreement with a Chinese investor group, to develop and operate a medical fac..

More

05 Jun 2015

From Insights

Competition law developments in the Asia-Pacific region

We set out a number of interesting recent antitrust developments in the Asia-Pacific region.

More

print-footer
logo
© Stephenson Harwood LLP 2016. Any reference to Stephenson Harwood in this document means Stephenson Harwood LLP and/or its affiliated undertakings. Any reference to a partner is used to refer to a member of Stephenson Harwood LLP.